Greenbuild logoLEED and RHEINZINK

LEED® – Leadership in Environmental & Energy Design

The LEED system is currently the world’s most widespread certification system.  It was developed by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) and introduced to the USA in 1998.  Evaluation is based on the following categories:

  • Category 1: Sustainable Sites (site and external environment)
  • Category 2: Water Efficiency (demand for water during use)
  • Category 3: Energy & Atmosphere (energy demand during use)
  • Category 4: Materials & Resources (materials used for construction)
  • Category 5: Indoor Environmental Quality (health and comfort)
  • Category 6: Innovation & Design Process (innovation and planning process)

The criteria applied here is adjusted accordingly depending on whether a new or existing building or a renovation project is involved.  The type of usage is also taken into account (e.g. offices, schools, housing etc.).  The individual criteria is rated with 1 point and certification awarded according to the levels Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum.  This depends on the total score.  Not all categories need to be covered for the award of a high level. The certification system is used in this form all over the world although no adaptation to local conditions is made at present.

Building materials can merely contribute to fulfilment of the requirements in terms of individual criteria, i.e. for the award of a point. For example, the percentage of all materials used for construction that can be recycled is taken into consideration here.

Click RHEINZINK and LEED for the complete .pdf.